5/365: This is Perth

Sent 5 April 2010

Growing up in Australia in the 80’s meant I was subjected to a daily diet of American TV shows and books. For a long time I didn’t even realise that America and Australia were different places….I just though some of us (the ones on the TV mainly) sounded different. But then slowly the small differences began to emerge and I realise how different we were.

I began to wonder why the people in the books got to go Trick or Treating when no one in our street even knew what Halloween was and if you turned up at their door dressed as a witch would probably give you a pat on the head and ask you where your parents were.

For years, as I ingested every Babysitters Club book ever written, I wondered what the hell barrettes were and why young girls were so obsessed with them. I asked my Mum and she had no idea. I quizzed my teachers on the subject and again they gave me a quizzical look and shrugged. It was only, many years later, in my 20’s that I decided to use the internet to answer this questions that had been plaguing me for so many years. I was kinda disappointed to find out they were talking about hair clips! HAIR CLIPS! I don’t really know what I though barrettes were, but I sure as hell didn’t think they were hair clips.

But barrettes aside, I got to send my first postcard to the US today and the excitement was immense. Hello USA!

**Check out the YouTube video that this postcard is based on. HILARIOUS.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “5/365: This is Perth”

  1. Joe Says:

    Kacy!, Thanks for the card, and Thanks for making me the First US address. Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

