10/365: What is Poutine?

Sent 10 April 2010

And why does it sound like a dirty word that I am too afraid to Google? Now I am no stranger to junk food, in fact I got laughed at recently because my favourite sandwich filling is potato chips, but after perusing www.thisiswhyyourefat.com I realised that I am only in the minor leagues. Never in my wildest dreams would I have considered filling a cupcake, not only with cream, but with bacon! There is more meat in some of these dishes than would be at a German wedding. Meat, wrapped in meat, dunked in cheese and deep fried for good measure. My heart began to ache more and more with every page I looked at. And I couldn’t stop. Although I was feeling something between hungry, disgusted and morbidly fascinated I kept clicking on the next page, afraid that if I didn’t the most colossal scary meat mountain might be waiting on just the next page and if I didn’t click I would never get to marvel at it’s absurdity. I only managed to tear myself away when the clock struck one in the morning and exhaustion carried me to sleep.

Till tomorrow

Kacy

**For those of you like me who also don’t know what poutine is, according to Wikipedia it is a dish consisting of french fries topped with fresh cheese curd, covered with brown gravy and sometimes additional ingredients. Chips and gravy basically but with a fancy name.**

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

