19/365: Square peg

Sent 19 April 2010

I somewhat apologise to today’s addressee, as this is probably the first postcard that is not comedic. Although this is my own personal project, I still feel a need to provide my addressees with a little joy in their mailboxes. They have been so kind as to volunteer to help me see my way through this interesting journey, that I feel guilty for writing anything too heavy.

But today’s postcard was a personal catharsis. I had been feeling reflective all day and as midnight approached and my daily postcard was still blank, I had nothing else to say but what thoughts were scrambling through my head.

Looking back on my life, I have always been a bit of a square peg in a round hole. Not really feeling like I fit in, or that the things I thought about were what everyone else thought about. It’s not like I claim to be more special or unique than anyone else, I just sometimes found myself confused by the world I found myself in and the concerns of those around me. I guess it was this that has made me a fairly opinionated person, somehow trying to jealously guard the beliefs that I saw as shaping who I was. We all have things, whether we admit it or not, that we believe to be true to the very core of who we are. We would valiantly fight for what we see as being inherently true and we feel like these views could never be shaken.

But for me, one of those views that I used to hold dear has been rocked. In a good way. In a great way. This negative belief that I have that I just don’t get along with people in general was proven wrong and I was so ready to accept that. I stopped today. I looked around. I saw that I was surrounded by so many people eager to prove me wrong. I don’t know how I suddenly found myself here, with my cynicism leaking away, but I will not question it. I will enjoy it.

Thanks to those people, whether you know who you are or not, who are the square holes in my life.

Till tomorrow

Kacy

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “19/365: Square peg”

  1. Louise Says:

    This was my postcard, after the month I have had, it was just the thing I needed. I cant thank you enough, for providing a description to how ive been feeling and how my views are constantly chaning!
    x

Leave a Reply

