231/365: Call for fantasy novel recommendations!

Sent 17 November 2010

Hey you! No, not the person standing behind you, I’m talking to YOU! The one with the limbs and the eyes and stuff. Do you read fantasy novels? If not, I am sure you are super swell with plenty of super swell hobbies that normally I would be most delighted to hear about, but for now just go away. If you are then read on…….

I like to read. I love to read. When speaking to my mum the other day, I asked what I was into as a kid. Did I want to play with trucks? Was I obsessed with video games? Did I beg to learn the flute? Apparently as a child all I wanted to do was read……and iron hankies. But mostly read. I vividly recall being taken to the local second hand bookstore where I could swap my read books for more books that I was yet to discover. It was like heaven. The covers were bent, some pages stained, but to me they were excitement waiting to happen. All the trip home I would look at their covers, wondering whether they would soon become my favourites. The books that I never returned to the store but instead kept on my shelf to read over and over again. Each time finding comfort in the familiar story.

Then many years later, after discovering fantasy novels and consuming them like a glutton, I started uni and my love of reading dimmed a little. Uni involves a lot of reading, none of which involves dragons, so I began to relate reading with study. Each time I would sit down to read a novel I would be drowned with guilt, knowing that I could be reading something to do with my degree. SO although now my current degree doesn’t involve much reading, I have been unable to capture that feeling I had when I was a kid, holding an unread book.

So this is where I ask for help. If you too love fantasy books, would you care to recommend something for me to read? My favourite authors are Raymond E Feist and Robin Hobb so something similar to that would be just what I am looking for.

OK. GO

Till tomorrow

Kacy

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “231/365: Call for fantasy novel recommendations!”

  1. Michelle Says:

    You’ve already got the Dark Tower on your list, so the other one I’ll recommend is American Gods & Anansi Boys by Neil Gaiman. Very cool fantasy about gods & such. Also Terry Pratchett’s Discworld series is quite fun with a very British style humour.

    When I was a kid I loved Belgarath the Sorcerer & other such books by David & Leigh Eddings. I should really re-read them as an adult.

    Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

